1. mfriend

mfriend Apr 3, 2019

What is the general consensus on regular service on your watches. I am relatively new to the high end watch game. Have had my Monaco (WW2110.FT6005) for almost 3 years and have had no issues at all with it. I contacted the Canadian TAG service center to find out the cost, approx $200 CDN for "tune-up" and could go up from there depending on condition of movement. it is not a large expense, just wondering if it is worth it seeing that there are no issues.....

2. imagwai

imagwai Apr 3, 2019

At the two extremes, there are manufacturer service intervals, and there's the school of thought that if it's not broken, don't try to fix it. I am somewhere between the two, although that said, I have watches that I know ought to have a service and aren't keeping as good time as they can, but I haven't bothered taking the plunge. If I could find a trusted watchmaker in my area, who charged reasonable prices, then it might be a different story.

3. mfriend

mfriend Apr 3, 2019

I did not know there were manufacturer service intervals, but i am also leaning towards the middle, why do it if it works... might also look for a good watchmaker in the area...... don't like the idea of paying to send it to a depot

4. imagwai

imagwai Apr 3, 2019

Your post has actually prompted me to seek out a reasonably-priced watchmaker in London - think I found one. £280 for service of my Rolex Explorer. My Carrera Reissue could most probably do with a service too but that's £360 being a chronograph. Would be interested to hear what people think of these prices.

These watches are both > 10 years old. I'm not the first owner, but pretty sure they won't have had a service up till now.

5. dtf

dtf Apr 3, 2019

How well does the explorer keep time at the age?

6. imagwai

imagwai Apr 3, 2019

About +10-15 secs / day.

dtf likes this.
  7. dtf

dtf Apr 3, 2019

Not bad. Still within spec for a new Tag. One day I'll buy an Explorer :)

OttoWilliam likes this.